Web Weekend #2

Hello again! I’ve got 292 subscriptions this week, although I must confess that I added like 20 of them just yesterday. Sadly, it seems that there weren’t any good recipes to pass on, but that’s okay, because I’ve got a lot of other things to share. 🙂 Check out the new category at the bottom, featuring things I found cute or just plain funny. 🙂

Image from Craft
Crochet Succulents – So cute and even harder to kill! (Photo from Craft)

Things
How to make a wooden sword (Art of Manliness)
Toddler Totoro! (The Uniblog)
Great Doctor Who shirt, but I think there’s 8 Doctors crying somewhere… (Fashionably Geek)
This origami pillow cover is simply amazing. (Knock Off Decor)
Quick roundup of hearts and dragons stitching patterns (Feeling Stitchy)
Crocheted Succulents – bright and not covered with thorns! (Craft)
Of course you want a handmade felt TARDIS (Craft)
Felted zombie candies for Valentine’s Day (Craft)
Beautiful lacy wooden earrings (Pioneer Woman)
Magnetic Nail Polish?! Get me some NOW. (Chloe’s Nails)
I am in awe of this feathery stitchery (Feeling stitchy)
Mmmm, beautiful textiles (CasaSugar)
The LOTR MiniFigs! (Topless Robot)

Ideas
TV-inspired nail art! Some of these are kinda amateur, but some are awesome. (Flavorwire)
How to add a Pin It button to your WordPress blog. I’ve gotta get on that… (BlogHer)
Upcycled kid’s craft organizer – bright and fun! (Knock Off Decor)
These storage bins are awesome and I think I might make some similar ones (Treehugger)
Fun and cute way to use up little leftover ends of embroidery floss. (The Smallest Forest)
Large mesh “needlepoint” – really great for a big sign! (Craft)
Crochet-edged valentines
– also cute for “framing” art on a wall, I think. (Craft)
Cute sewing-area decor idea (Craft)

Photo from Craft
Mesh Needlepoint (Photo from Craft)

Food
The Cook’s Thesaurus. Bookmark it.

Articles and News
How to Prepare for a Pelvic Exam if you’re a Sexual Assault Survivor – I hope none of you need this, and I wish nobody ever did, but here it is, just in case. Also a good resource for someone having their first. (Jezebel)
Part of a series of articles on mature male archetypes. Nerd glee! (Art of Manliness)
Lord of the Rings geekery at its finest: a comprehensive Middle Earth family tree. (io9)
Why we need a permanent Moonbase (io9)
A love letter to the Internet (Bent Objects)
What your favorite blog says about you (Slacktory)
Five stupid stereotypes about girls that need to be unlearned (Mommyish)
Let’s talk about brand loyalty (Apartment Therapy)
Words! Glorious Words! (The Mary Sue)
Let me tell you why you should support the Arkh Project (Arkh Project)
Clean and Beautiful Nails: A Sign of Class (Capitol Couture)

Entertainment News
Are the Oscars even about art anymore? (BlogHer)
I didn’t know these! Which actors popped up more than once on Doctor Who? (Anglophenia)
Happy Year of the Dragon! Have some info about Smaug. (The Mary Sue)
IMDB’s top 10 of the last 10 years – an excuse to ogle. (Flavorwire)
A 10-minute supercut of WHO! (Topless Robot)

Art
I can’t not share Stasia Burrington – I love her art. This one is no exception. (Stasia Burrington)
These miniature Lego creations are amazing. (Colossal)
You have to see these papercut birds and flowers. (Colossal)
Adorable little baby Spiderman (Cute-sturbing)

Photo from the Uniblog
ADORB! (Photo from the Uniblog)

Weekly Greatness:
PUPPIES (My Junk Drawer)
When did THIS…? (Definitely the best medicine)
QC is a great comic, but this strip stands alone as awesome. (Questionable Content)
Haha! These make me want to watch First Class again (Erin knits, nerds, exists)

Did you see anything cool around the internet this week? Is there a blog I should be reading? Share your own thoughts and links in the comments!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. April
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 21:45:04

    I want those succulents. I bow to your internet prowess. 🙂

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Jan 30, 2012 @ 00:15:36

      Oh I am so planning to make some of those. I’m thinking some Venus Fly Traps would be ADORB also. I really love those ones in the back, with the red edging. 🙂
      I am so glad that everyone seems to like my roundups. 🙂

      Reply

  2. studiokako
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 13:16:58

    Stasia Burrington does make beautiful art. I’m so jealous of water color artists and her talent is amazing. Papercut birds and flowers – AWESOME. Lego art is amazing. Stand mixer out of legos? wut?? Amen to “when did this”. I think that is all for now.

    Reply

Join the Discussion!