June Birchbox

Better a little late than never, right?

I noticed something. Last month, the month that I found so disappointing, my box came very early, before I noticed anybody saying they’d gotten it on Pinterest or Twitter. This month was much better, and it was also one of the last ones – it shipped on the 10th, the last day of shipping. I wonder if that’s relevant, or just coincidence.

Oh, speaking of last month, remember that Dr Jart’s BB cream? IT IS AMAZING. I actually got like 5 uses out of that tiny bottle, and very seriously considered purchasing full size. I decided to try some other brands before I committed to that brand, so now I’ve got a tube of the Garnier offering. Love it too.

So… what did I get this month, you ask?

This is an Eyeko London Skinny Liquid Eyeliner. It actually seems to be full-size, which is straight-up awesome. I am usually a gel-pencil eyeliner girl, personally. I tried liquid liner back when I was a teenager and didn’t like it much – I don’t have very steady hands. I really like this one though! I like the look of the liquid liner, and the style of the tip of this one is easy to control. It’s got a paintbrushy feel to it (but it’s not a brush, it’s a tapered foam tip). Mine is black, but the Shop only seems to have it in Olive and Turquoise right now (both of which look pretty cool too). Definitely will consider buying this.

Apparently there’s a scented product every month, and this time it’s Melvita Floral Water in Rose. I really love the scent – it really does smell exactly like a rose. However, the scent is very light when you put it on; it doesn’t seem to linger at all like a perfume does. I suppose this is meant to be more of a “body spray”? Those are nice too, but I don’t buy body sprays in this price range. It’s lovely, just more than I’d spend on the product. It’s also available in Lavender and Orange Blossom (I’d really like to try that one).

The lifestyle extra this month is “fancy bandaids” (as my daughter is calling them). This is a box of 20 Band-Aids designed by Cynthia Rowley. They’ve all got cool designs on them. I’ve not injured myself since receiving the box, so I haven’t been able to test them out, but I’m sure they’re of good quality. The Shop is selling a package of 40 (20 of these and 20 in a sport pack) for 11$, which seems pretty much like what the plain old beige bandages sell for, so this is a pretty good deal. I’d purchase these.

I’ll admit I was a little dubious about this one – Stainiac by theBalm. It’s a stain designed to be used as lip or cheek color, which seems just a bit weird to me. I got the Beauty Queen color; they have two other color choices. I never ever use cheek color (my cheeks have plenty of natural color – too much, in fact), so I haven’t tried it that way. It was pretty nice on my lips though. I was expecting a dark red color, but it was actually quite pink. It went on smoothly and was not sticky. I don’t think it lasted very long though. I’m a big fan of Cover Girl Outlast lip stain and I don’t think that this measured up to that. I liked the product, but it’s not for me.

Yu-Be moisturizing skin cream has been a top-selling product in Japan for over half a century, so it must be awesome, right? Right. It has no added fragrances or colors and no petrolatum – just a light moisturizing cream. It rubs completely into the skin and doesn’t leave a greasy residue like some creams. I tried it on a patch of dry skin on my hand and saw instant results. The price is excellent as well – I may give this a try the next time I’m in the market for lotion.

Last but not least, I’ve got a cologne sample from the new Birchbox Men service! John Varvatos Star USA is (at this writing) sold out on the Birchbox shop, so I guess we weren’t the only ones that liked it! As a woman, I loved this smell for my husband, and he liked it a lot as well. It’s expensive, like all perfumes and colognes, but not exorbitantly so. We’ll enjoy this sample for date nights and maybe get some in the future.

If you like what you see here, consider trying out a Birchbox subscription of your own! They’re only ten dollars a month, and it’s always fun to see what surprises are in store. I’ve not been compensated in any way for this post, although the link earlier in this paragraph is a referrer link that will earn me some points if you subscribe using it. All opinions are my own. Check out my Health and Beauty category here on the blog to see more Birchbox reviews and other similar things.

Do you have a Birchbox subscription? How did you like it this month? If you’ve tried any of these products, what did you think of them? Did you find any amazing new products this month?

Join the Discussion!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 164 other followers

