Hold the Cheese

My first experience with wine was disastrous. Shortly after I turned 21, a friend and I went to the store and tried to find one to try. The only name that looked familiar was Merlot.
We brought it to my house, popped it open with my brand new corkscrew, and poured it into some stemware.
IT WAS AWFUL.
I don’t know if it was our ignorant taste buds or a bad wine or what. It was sooooo bad. And then we got the idea of putting some sugar in it, to cut the bitterness.
I do not recommend doing this.

Fast forward some years. Wine is super trendy right now, and i usually resist trends. Jonathan was indifferent.
But a few weekends ago, we heard about a Wine and Food Festival nearby and decided to go.
We live in an area that produces a lot of wine. I can name 3 vineyards within a few miles of here. The festival was from all over the state, but focusing on locals.
We did some tasting. To both of our surprise, we liked it! I tended toward sweet reds, but not too sweet. Jonathan was digging the whites, sweet but tending a little toward semisweet (aka he liked them tart).
We bought 3 bottles that day. We also visited a local wine shop (the best one) to see if they carried the labels we liked (we had kept notes at the festival). They did. We will be spending some time in there. ;)

So now I guess we are wine snobs? We have an unspoken agreement that we only want locally produced wine, which is not a limitation here haha.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jun 24, 2013 @ 12:16:58

    We live in an area that produces a lot of wine as well, it is rather fun to support local farmers by being a wine snob!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Jun 24, 2013 @ 12:26:26

      I don’t see any reason to try some big national label. They cost more, they have a bigger carbon footprint, and they definitely don’t have the character of a small local vineyard. I’ll probably never try a big label. ;)

      Reply

  2. Miranda Marie
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 23:20:17

    I tried Merlot once. Not a good one to start with (I still don’t like it) too bitter and dry. I like sweets, red or white.

    Reply

Join the Discussion!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

