Organizing, Downsizing, and New Things

The last couple of weeks, I’ve been realizing that I’m very unhappy with the layout and working of my home. I can’t do much about the physical form of the building, of course. But I feel like my furniture is wrong and that the “flow” of the house just isn’t working. The main symptom of this is that it’s very very hard to keep it clean and organized, because it just doesn’t WORK.

I’ve been talking to Jonathan about it over the past couple of days, thinking and talking and passing ideas around. Trying to come to some decisions and conclusions about how to improve it.
Also playing into our discussion is the knowledge that we will be moving later this year – knowing that we have to pack, we have a desire to downsize and pare away the excess, as well as organize things now so the packing is easier later.

Here is a list of what I’ve got running in my head, about what I want to do with my house:
– rearrange the living room (but it’s long and narrow so I don’t know how)
– buy an e-reader and begin to pare down the books and clean the shelves
– better organization of our movie collection
– buy shelves and baskets to create “hidden” storage for the stuff that accumulates around the rooms (dining and living rooms, specifically)
– find a way to incorporate a “landing strip” where keys, wallets, mail, etc, can be dropped on the way into the house (no room near the garage door where we generally enter)
– organize the vast amounts of paperwork we possess. scan and shred as much as possible.
– downsize some of the dishes, upsize some others (I know that makes no sense)
– decor is not satisfying – change it!
– get a coat rack or two
– down size the “stuff” – is it important to me? If not, why do I have it? If yes, then is it being used to the best advantage?
– install shelves in various places (above microwave, in bathroom) for storage and display
– purchase large airtight containers, so we can buy large (warehouse-size) amounts of staples like flour and sugar

That’s all I can assemble in my head at the moment. I’m constantly scouring the internet, so I have a ton of ideas in my head for new decor, new organization, etc, and I am looking forward to beginning. (When we get our income tax return, I’m hijacking part of it for specific use on these projects.) So you can consider this list to be a preview of things to come on this blog.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debtfreedecorating
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 12:36:13

    Sounds like a big job. I feel the same way about my house since we moved here. I just haven’t found a home for everything yet and I’m lost. In my old home, everything had a place and I knew how to function. Now, I need to get everything moved and in order. I’m glad I’m not about to move though–that’s hard to do. Good luck to you.

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Jan 28, 2012 @ 16:43:19

      Thanks! This house is super weird about storage and “places to put things” – on the one hand, we have two hall closets, a linen closet, and a giant laundry room that doubles as a pantry. On the other hand, hardly any kitchen cabinets, and just something about the way it’s laid out is just … awkward. Oh well. I do like my house, and I’ll miss it when we leave.
      By the way, I rearranged my living room last night and it’s already helped a LOT!

      Reply

Join the Discussion!

