Web Weekend #4

Hello again! I’ve got 314 subscriptions this week. Where do they all come from?
I’m still behind, but I am reasonably caught-up. It’s as good as it’s gonna get for now.
This week’s offerings here are light on crafts. I’m feeling rather uninspired right now so I felt rather “meh” about everything. To see what you’ve missed, go check out my Pinterest – I shared there liberally throughout the week, bringing pithy commentary and hearty lols as appropriate.


Lol! (Literate Knits)

Things

Some felt fruits. I love these things. (The Uniblog)
Several pretties here, but I love that scarf edging. (Etsy Blog)
Some gorgeous pearl-and-ribbon necklaces. (DesignMom)
Wooden castle blocks (Ohdeedoh)
This 11-year-old has great style. I want all her items. (Mommyish)

Ideas

Knitted Tardis hat. (Copiously Geeky)
Felt Game Boy plush! Going to make this. (Copiously Geeky)
Hardware and Leather jewelry (Thanks I Made It)
St Patricks Day stitching (much more fun than St Valentine) (So September)
A pretty flowery embroidery pattern (Carina’s Craftblog)
A gorgeous natural wood pathway for your garden. (Dornob)
Turn a magazine holder into a clever corner shelf. (Lifehacker)
A wallet made of plastic bags (Recyclart)
DIY pin curls – I did these back in October and it was fun. (The Gloss)

Food

Frosting now comes in rainbow. (Epic Ponyz)
A bread recipe. Haven’t tried it yet. (Jezebel)
Mixed-nut Dark Chocolate Truffles (Lark Crafts)
No-cheese Pizza. Actually does look good! (Carina’s Craftblog)
Those copycats. Here’s a list of 12 basic recipes. (The Kitchn)
Frozen garlic-and-onion puree – a time saving hack for the kitchen (Lifehacker)
Shredded chicken in your stand mixer – yes this really works, it’s magic (Lifehacker)
Steak with drunken mushrooms (The Kitchn)

Lord Ghirahim
I love this character so much. (FY Hyrule)

Articles and News

I love TMS’s Power Grids. This one is about child monarchs in media. (The Mary Sue)
Waivers are being handed out to certain states for NCLB regulations. First crack in the armor. (The Stir)
Old news about parenting styles, but still good to know. (The Stir)
Washington State legalized same-sex marriage this week! It was reported everywhere, go find an article yourself.
The Census Bureau thinks that fathers are only babysitters when they parent. (BlogHer)
Do you make food just for your blog? I think this post is idiotic. (BlogHer)
Got any design pet peeves? I’m most irritated when a married woman decorates her home (especially shared master bedroom) in incredibly feminine colors/styles. (Curbly)
Facts about Queen Elizabeth II. An amazing lady. (TresSugar)
Now *this* is a senator I’d vote for. (The Gloss)

Entertainment News

Harry Potter in 60 Seconds. (The Mary Sue)
Filming of the new season of Who begins on the 20th! (The Mary Sue)
Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks are in talks to remake Mary Poppins. If anybody can, it’s probably them (Pink is the New Blog)
Angelina Jolie is reportedly cast as Maleficent in an upcoming movie. I’m excited! (IGN)


Exterminate is magic. No, seriously, I want some of these. (The Mary Sue)

Art

This artist. Everything. I think I faved everything in his DA gallery. (Paper Beats Scissors)
A phenomenal short graphic story. Go read it. Now. (Strangely Katie)
The New (Disney) Girl. LOL! This whole series is great. (My Junk Drawer)

Weekly Greatness:

Ten Greatest Kisses in Literature (Flavorwire)
Unfulfilling Desk Jobs (Twaggies)
LOL, marriage (Literate Knits)

Did you see anything cool around the internet this week? Is there a blog I should be reading? Share your own thoughts and links in the comments! Make sure to follow me (here, there, and everywhere) to get more updates!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. studiokako
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 21:49:53

    Those wooden castle blocks. I can’t say the things I want about them without creating double entendres so let’s just leave it at I want them. MAKE THE GAMEBOY. Also, thanks for once again leading me down the rabbit hole of the internet. I added AT LEAST 3 more blogs to my reader. It’s NEVER ENDING. The pin curl chick is awesome (I checked out a few more of her hair tutes/tuts [?]). Rainbow frosting IS HAPPENING. I think I’ve pretty much commented on everything else via g+, soooo back to laundry. meh.

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 19:54:06

      I want that gameboy SO BAD omg. Hehe, I swear that my subs breed when I’m not looking. 🙂 I don’t have the skillz for the rainbow frosting, but you totally should do it.

      Reply

Join the Discussion!

