Birchbox! (Updated!)

About a month or so ago, tons of blogs exploded about Birchbox. Most of the blogs I read (that relate to that sort of thing) were raving about this amazing subscription service that delivers a box of beauty goodies to your door every month. I tried to sign up then, but they were so swamped that they were temporarily “sold out!” Lucky me, I was able to sign up a few weeks later, and my first Birchbox arrived today!


My box!

Of course, I ripped into it immediately.


It opens flat and reveals a nice box inside, suitable to be kept and reused.


The big prize this month is this I Coloniali Tibetan Shower Cream with Rhubarb. It’s a really creamy shower soap, basically. It has a really exotic and luxurious scent that lingers even after rinsing. I’ll get quite a few uses out of this bottle, and I like it so much I may buy more when it runs out!


The second-biggest item is Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls. I’ve got frustrating hair – wavy in some places, but oddly flat in others. Not curly enough to be curly, not straight enough to be straight. I’m not really a fan of my hair, is what I’m trying to say here. And while I’ve never liked wearing it curly, I definitely have to say that it’s the easiest treatment for curly hair I’ve ever tried. This IS a positive review. It’s just that I just don’t like curly hair much. It didn’t get the crunchiness like gel does, isn’t oily like many frizz treatments, and is probably the best thing I’ve used on my hair for making it look presentable without much effort. Even so, I think I’ll be passing the rest of this bottle on to one of my curly-and-proud friends.


Another I Coloniali product! Having loved the shower cream, I was excited to try the Deep Massage Body Cream with Myrrh. This .35 oz sample was enough to do both arms, both legs (from just above the knee down) and both feet. It’s got little granules in it that absorb into your skin. Like the shower cream, it’s really luxurious and smells exotic and decadent. I really love this stuff as well.


This sample packet of WEI Pomegranate buffing beads actually contains 2 packets of .02 oz each. It’s meant to be mixed with your facial cleanser to buff and purify your skin of toxins. I have not tried them yet, but I will this evening when I wash my face (I use a Burt’s Bees cleanser, if anybody cares) and update with my review tomorrow!
Update: I love these! It isn’t “beads” so much as a fine grain sand. I really REALLY noticed a difference when I used it. Best of all, the packet contains enough for about 3 uses (for me anyway – maybe I’m using less than recommended, but it’s enough to notice a big difference). This is definitely an item I’ll be purchasing – it’s inexpensive AND makes a huge difference.


The One Love Organics Skin Savior waterless beauty balm is another treasure. The jar contains 15 mL, and I think it’ll last a long time. It looks to have a beeswax base, and other balms I’ve used of this type always last forever. It has a light, subtle fruity scent. I applied it to one of my notoriously dry patches (my left elbow). It was very smooth and light. This is another probably-will-purchase product! (The full size is rather expensive but will probably last for-ev-errrrr.)


This blurry picture shows a trial-size of Color Club nail lacquer in Jackie Oh! (Did other boxes get different colors, I wonder?) If you know me, you’ll know that I’ve been on a nail polish binge lately, so I was stoked, especially since I haven’t tried this brand yet. This is definitely not a color I would generally choose (I like earth tones and jewel tones; I’m not really a neon girl), but my almost-4-year old was ecstatic about it. The texture of the polish was nice – not too thin, not too thick.


It looks coral here, but take my word for it – it’s VERY neon and VERY pink. It’s kinda fun, actually. This is just one coat of the polish (gotta love lacquers that cover with only one coat – the bottle lasts so much longer).


I used a matte topcoat on the other hand, just for contrast. Lookin good. πŸ™‚ I don’t think I’d purchase this color for myself, but I like the brand.

This box was only my first one, and now I’m sad that I have to wait a whole month for another one! Aside from the new and exciting products (that I never would have tried otherwise), it was amazingly fun to have a special day of pampering delivered to my door. πŸ™‚ And did I mention it’s only TEN dollars a month? I purchased a yearlong subscription, which gives you one month free, AND a bunch of “points” you can use in their shop to purchase the full-size items. I am a VERY satisfied customer. Click here to find out more!

In the interests of complete honesty, I’d like you to know that all the product links here go to the Birchbox shop, but I don’t recieve any compensation for them. The links at the beginning and end that go to Birchbox’s website are my personal referrer link. If you sign up from that link, I do receive 50 points.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natasha Spark
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 04:19:52

    Your box was awesome! I opted for the teen vogue inspired box, i’ll be writing a ost about it tomorrow πŸ™‚ i hope that next month i have a chance to try out some of these products!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:36:20

      Thanks for your comment! I seriously considered getting the Teen Vogue box, but I was afraid it would be too “teenagery” and not really fit what I want and need (ie, my skin is super dry, and most teens have oily skin). So I’m looking forward to seeing what’s in your box! I hope they send more I Coloniali products because they are my new favorite thing. πŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. Kayla Koenig
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 00:09:31

    Dude for real? WordPress just ate my comment. I read about the beauty balm the other day and was thinking about trying it, sad that I didn’t get a box this month. I also like the nail polish, even though I’m not a “pink” girl. I might try it. Besides if I don’t like it I can always give it to my sis πŸ˜‰ I think it looks good on you btw

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:50:47

      WP has been super weird lately. Wonder if it’ll let me format today? LOL. I really like all the stuff in the box this month. Hope you can sign up soon. I gotta remember to send you that curl stuff, lol.

      Reply

  3. Kyra
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 22:34:02

    Apparently, you are trying to kill my bank account one MUSTHAVETHISNOW!!!! at a time.

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Mar 31, 2012 @ 09:44:09

      Dude, this is only 10$ a month! If you subscribe for a year, you get one month free. Also they have a points system which works out to you being able to buy stuff free. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. vincentfarrellartist
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 21:57:20

    this is a must have!!!i want that box!!! i’ll take the teen-agery box gladly ! holy cow gotta have it!!!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 17:54:31

      I really enjoyed this box and I am already getting excited for the next one. πŸ˜€ It’s pretty inexpensive, too, and I definitely feel like I am getting more than my money’s worth!

      Reply

  5. Trackback: April Birchbox « merricontrari
  6. Trackback: May Birchbox – Gossip Girl Edition « merricontrari

Join the Discussion!

