Grasshopper Pie

One of the biggest Nerd Holidays of the year is Pi Day. Traditionally celebrated on March 14 (at 1:52 pm), it’s a day to commemorate the intriguing infinite number pi, and also to make and eat delicious pies.

Meet my costar. She's waiting "patiently" for me to let her do something.

This year, Pi Day fell on a day that I really really didn’t feel like dealing with things. As you’ll see in the pictures, my kitchen was a MESS. And I was definitely in no mood to make a fiddly pie crust. I asked my friends for suggestions of a yummy pie that didn’t require a crust. April offered Grasshopper Pie, and I decided to go for it. I had to go to the store to get some ingredients, but it was kinda nice to get out of the house that day. I followed this recipe from The Pioneer Woman, but there are other versions out there (ones without alcohol, for example). I made a few changes – some by choice (trading the cookies) and some by accident (leaving out the creme de cacao).

To begin, you’ll need to gather these ingredients:
– Chocolate cookies – Oreos are traditional, but I used Thin Mints
– 2 tbsp butter
– container of marshmallow fluff
– 2/3 cup half-and-half
– 2 tbsp creme de menthe (you could sub some mint extract)
– 1 cup heavy cream

First, melt the butter. Put it in a small bowl and cover with plastic wrap (trust me on this) with a few holes poked in it. Microwave for a few seconds (like 20).

Put the cookies and butter in the bowl of your food processor and pulse until smooth.

Pour the crumbs into your pie plate, and pat it down and up the sides.

Now put your marshmallow fluff and half-and-half in a pan and heat it until it’s all melted. Ree used a large container of fluff and I used a small one but somehow we both filled the pie? I’m not sure how that works, but okay. Maybe she uses a bigger pie plate.

While you’re tending the fluff on the stove, have your helpers fill a bowl with ice. When the hot mixture is all melted, remove from the heat and put it in the ice bath. As it cools, add the creme de menthe. If yours is clear, you’ll want to add some green food coloring. Stir and let the mixture cool.

Now break out your beater and whip that cup of heavy cream. Pour the cooled fluff mixture into the whipped cream and fold gently.

Fill your cookie crust with minty goodness. Pop that baby into the freezer. Make sure it’s flat. Ree says “at least 2 hours” but mine needed a little more than 3 before it was hardened.

Slice it and serve. It’s cool and minty and refreshing – a perfect pie for hot summer days. I’ll be making this a lot this summer, I think. The thin mints rehardened into basically one solid cookie, and it was excellent. I’ll have to hide the rest of the boxes we bought from my husband so I have them for next time. The only downside to this pie was that it took up valuable space in my freezer until we ate it all.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. studiokako
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 15:37:34

    I love that first pic of Charlotte 🙂 And the pie sounds pretty yummy too

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Mar 22, 2012 @ 16:08:25

      It IS yummy. You should make one. 🙂

      Missy’s been helping in the kitchen a lot lately. More pics like it will be forthcoming when I get around to it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Heidi
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 21:46:53

    OMG, this looks so yummy. I am going to have to make this!

    Reply

  3. Kyra
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 23:13:28

    Substitute it with mint extract? Are you crazy?! Also… I love the thin mint idea. And your challah in the background!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Mar 23, 2012 @ 13:53:01

      Haha yeah I wouldn’t do that substitution either. 🙂 The thin mints were GREAT. They solidified back into a solid cookie, basically and it was really good. Not crumbly like a lot of cookie crusts are.
      (And yay challah!)

      Reply

Join the Discussion!

