Web Weekend #6

Hello again! It’s been a long time. I wish I knew where all my time has been going. I am wayyy behind on my reading (and on my crafting and on my chores, and apparently on life in general). I decided to make an exception and do this roundup anyway even though I’m not caught up. Most notably, I’ve not gotten around to IO9 and The Mary Sue, nor Apartment Therapy. šŸ˜¦
If you’re curious, I currently have 325 subscriptions.

Laughed out loud, in real life.

Things

Mario Question Block hanging lamp. (Laughing Squid)
Clever concept for carrying recyclable bottles. (Laughing Squid)
Geeky medicine cabinet, just for fun. (So Geek Chic)
A gorgeous sampler of couched threads (The Smallest Forest)
I love hardware accessories! Hose clamp bracelet! (Thanks I Made It)
Bold colors – DIY CMYK lanterns (Oh Happy Day!)
Gorgeous antique embroidery (Feeling Stitchy)
Paperclip Parrot embroidery (Feeling Stitchy)
Plague Doctor (Drop Dead Quirky)
Beautiful math-y sampler (Button Button)
R2-D2 inspired birdhouse (Badder Homes and Gardens)
Pillow Beast! (Badder Homes and Gardens)
Medieval Weapon pushpins! (Badder Homes and Gardens)
A roundup of Jellyfish stitcheries (&Stitches)

Ideas

I really like my theme here on my blog, but I might make a custom one. (Lifehacker)
A hanging book display DIY. (Lifehacker)
Put a rain gutter in your picnic table. I am SO doing this. (Lifehacker)
Turn wooden shutters into a wall rack. (Lifehacker)
Bookends from detergent bottles. (Recyclart)
I got several ideas from this Easter Egg roundup (LilSugar)
Fuzzy dot rug – might feel nice while dishwashing? (Decor Hacks)

Food

Quick and cheap “Emergency Cake.” (Lifehacker)
Hard Baked eggs? Alton says so. (Lifehacker)
Quick caramel from sweetened condensed milk. (Lifehacker)
Passover Sweet and Sour Meatballs. (The Shiksa Blog)
A lovely Tomato Salsa (Good Girl Gone Green)
Homemade sugar cubes (Ruffles & Stuff)
Stuffed Green Peppers inspired by A Song of Ice and Fire (Inn at the Crossroads)
Coconut Macaroon Nutella Nests (Two Peas and Their Pod)
Adorable Mock Dormice (Inn at the Crossroads)
Sandwich Bread for beginners (The Kitchn)
Tears of Lys – yes I love ASOIAF okay (Inn at the Crossroads)

Lilo at Hogwarts? Yikes. šŸ™‚ Painting by Amy Mebberson

Articles and News

Seriously, DON’T buy a Keurig. (Treehugger)
The 1940 census will be released soon! Info geeks rejoice! (Gawker)
Party balloons are interfering with Science. Stop it! (Gawker)

Entertainment News

New Companion! And other WHO news that’ll make you flail! (Anglophenia)

Art

Zelda Potion Ad by Barrett Biggers (via Copiously Geeky)
A quote from Banksy that I just LOVE (via The Smallest Forest)
Some thoughts on artistic “stealing” (via The Smallest Forest)
The Doubtful Dalek by Kathleen Jennings – hilarious mental images included free (Errantry)

Did you see anything cool around the internet this week? Is there a blog I should be reading? Share your own thoughts and links in the comments! Make sure to follow me (here, there, and everywhere) to get more updates!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kako
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 21:19:41

    love love love your embroidery links. Maybe one day I will join the awesome ranks of embroiderers.

    Reply

Join the Discussion!

