Media Monday

This may or may not become a regular feature. Let me know what you think! This post is more-or-less an introduction to me and my idea here, so the regular feature will be a little different. Let’s discuss this!

Books

I am a voracious reader. I read quickly and I read often. I’m a re-reader also – I prefer to own books so I can read them again and again. I do love libraries, and go to mine often, but I like to be able to pick up a comfortable tome and return to its world. I’ve definitely been known to purchase books after borrowing them from a library.
I’m also a “cover chooser” – if I’ve got money to burn and a bookstore to lurk in (which I don’t anymore since Borders closed), I’ll find something with a cover that appeals to me. This usually doesn’t fail me – that’s how I’ve found several authors that I really like!
I’ve got a Kindle Fire, which is super nice. 🙂 E-books are cheaper. Also I follow a blog that searches out free books and posts them, so I regularly add freebies to my library.

Soon, I’m hoping to post book reviews. 🙂 I’ve been neck-deep in the world of Westeros (that’s A Song of Ice and Fire, or the books that Game of Thrones is based on) for quite a long time now. I’m near the end of the fourth book. The first 3 each got better and better, but I’ve gotta admit that I’m kinda slogging though this one. It’s not a flaw of the book so much as a flaw of epics – there’s always that part in the middle. The calm before the final storm, as it were.
I’m not “reviewing” these books yet because I need to re-read them before I’ll be prepared to do that. There’s just SO MUCH in them. Also I want to be able to go back and find all the foreshadowing. 🙂

I’m also going to take a page out of my friend Kyra‘s book and try out “Reviews of Books I Wouldn’t Normally Buy.” All those free books I get on my Kindle – some of them are just “hey that sounds cool” but definitely nothing I would have bought. Unknown authors, genres I’m not familiar with, etc. She did this recently, and I really liked it. Usually when you read a book review, the reviewer is a fan of the genre or the author so there’s a bit of bias. Her glowing review had even more impact since she was unfamiliar with it! So I’m gonna try to bring that feature here. I’m thinking a group of mini-reviews (many seem to be shorter works), supplemented by an occasional longer review in its own post.

Movies and TV

I’m a DVR addict. Each week, I scour our favorite channels to see what’s on and what’s good in the coming week. This week is a rather crummy one, not much good coming up.

Just for fun though, here’s a small selection of what I’m recording this week:
Repeaters:
Full Metal Jousting on History (Sunday evening) – JOUSTING. That is all.
Game of Thrones on HBO (Sunday evening) – of course!
Grimm on NBC (Friday evening) – this show started out weak but it’s greatly improved.
Last Man Standing on ABC (Tuesday evening) – also improving as it goes. Interesting to compare to Home Improvement (both starring Tim Allen).
Honorable mention – Once Upon a Time usually is on ABC on Sunday nights, but it doesn’t seem to be playing this week. Also, Doctor Who plays frequently on BBC America.

One-timers:
Ice Princess on ABC Family (Saturday afternoon) – shut up I love this movie.
Legion on FX (Wednesday evening) – Paul Bettany? Yes.
(Usually there are SO MANY movies, but I warned you – this is a crummy week.)

In future editions of this blog, if there are any, I’d like to share mini-reviews of episodes and movies. I’d also love to hear from you guys out there – what you’re watching, what I should think about watching, etc. I want to have conversations here!

Okay so now you know what I’m thinking – share your thoughts with me!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kyra
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 22:20:12

    Your praise of my inner nerdiness is much appreciated! I also reallly liked the BIWNNR spot, and am about 60% of the way through my next one. It’s of the slow-in-the-beginning-but-starting-to-pick-up variety…. Which just makes me feel lazy because I haven’t done it, yet. But thanks for the shout-out! It’ll be interesting to see if we both pick up the same things to read abnormally (maybe I should also read them upside down or while sitting on the washing machine).

    LOVE Last Man Standing. I NEED to check that jousting show. And you’re right about Grimm; it’s only getting better.

    This post inspires me. I’m going to have to start blogging about my weird taste in television.

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      Apr 10, 2012 @ 00:58:43

      I am SUPER happy this inspired you. I spoke only the truth about your review. It really made an impact on me. I don’t know of anybody that does that, so why not provide it! 🙂 You are a pioneer, my friend. 🙂

      When I finish ASOIAF, I’ll probably take a small break, read some other stuff, and then do a re-read. Hopefully be able to review them at that point, lol.

      Don’t feel bad about taking your time. With all the time-juggling that life takes… 🙂

      LMS is really good, I hope it gets renewed. FMJ is SO GOOD. I saw a casting announcement for it, so it seems that they’ve got another season coming. Highly recommended. 🙂 Oh this reminds me there’s a tattoo competition show on, need to set that to record as well.

      Reply

  2. Marian
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 22:20:31

    Sweet! Looking forward to reading your reviews in the future!

    Reply

Join the Discussion!

