Web “Weekend” #13

Hello Hello! I actually have a good reason for delaying the roundup this week! I wanted to include it in my GIVEAWAY WEEK festivities. (Also I am horribly behind in my readering.) For those of you who missed the memo, I’m participating in a massive giveaway party hosted by Sew Mama Sew. I’m offering a fun and eclectic bundle of crafting supplies, and EVERY COMMENT ALL WEEK counts as an entry. If you happen to not want to be included in the giveaway, just make a note of it in your comment. If you’d like to enter one/some/many/all of the other giveaways (there are hundreds), check out this link here. There are 5 categories, so have fun.

So for the newbies (hi out there!), let me lay down my ground rules for this thing here. I usually do this on the weekends, and my goal is to feature links to all the various things I found on the blogosphere that tickled my fancy that week. None of these links are sponsored or requested in any way – this is just me giving some love to the things I enjoyed. (And it’s NOT exhaustive – I have to cut like 90% of the things that I “star” as I’m readering.)
I share a lot of crafty things and recipes. I share a handful of interesting articles about a variety of topics including current events and science. I share links to fabulous art, and I share a smattering of things that I just thought were great. I get my geek on frequently – I put in a sprinkling of pictures and they tend to be quite geeky.
I’m currently following 413 blogs, holy crap. This giveaway thing is quite unhealthy for my reader, lol. I added probably 100 of those today as I was surfing the giveaways. I expect that number will be, like, 700 by the time I’m done.

Remember you can follow me on Pinterest  or on Tumblr for nearly-daily flailing and excitement. Check the right side of the page for a list of all the places you can find me. And if there’s somewhere else you’d like to connect with me, let me know! (I’m not making a facebook page until I know that people are interested.) Now let’s get to the links!

I featured this photo on the last roundup and just couldn’t bear to delete it. Uh oh, I may be stuck in an infinite loop. (via FY Link)

Things to Buy or Make

A colorful and cheap spiked macrame bracelet – hardcore, dude. 😉 (Thanks I Made It)
Cute patchwork pillow – excellent intro to piecing, I would imagine (SOTAK handmade)
Patchwork from the selvage edge of fabrics – this makes the waste-not spirit inside me very happy. (Happy Cottage Quilter)
Make a real life Pinboard, with a cool sliding panel in front! (Knock Off Decor)
Turn your spaghetti sauce jars into gorgeous Moroccan lanterns! (Matsutake)
DIY a shrinky jewelry piece from #6 plastic (Rust and Sunshine)
Use up that paper hoard by making this origami flower! (Creative to Keep My Sanity)
A purse that looks like Cap’s shield. YES. (So Geek Chic)
Crocheted Yoshi egg blanket. VERY yes. (So Geek Chic)
Homemade sidewalk chalk (Modern Mom)
DIY nail polish – an area of crafting that I’m itching to try! (Delighted Momma)
Awesome hardware necklace (Thanks I Made It)
Blackwork is gorgeous, and here’s a free pattern! (Feeling Stitchy)
Geometric felt bookmarks – very fun and modern (How About Orange)
I feel very inspired by this cats-and-laser-dot embroidery (&Stitches)
One of many old-school Zelda quilts I’ve seen. Gotta try this. (Copiously Geeky)

Ideas to Use

A list of commonly-wasted foods, and some ideas on how to avoid doing that (Savvy Housekeeping)
I’m not the only one who’s been changing up my grocery-shopping. Do you have any revelatory tricks? (Simple Organized Living)
Mary Corbet’s Stitch Play Index – an index of gorgeous embroidery stitches by a fabulous stitcher (Needle N Thread)
Really easy-to-follow tutorial on applying grommets (A Quilter’s Table)
DIY Wood Butter to keep your wooden stuff looking pretty. (Lifehacker)
DIY Reusable Dryer Sheets – brilliant! Already added them to my to-make list. (Lifehacker)
Apparently MAYO will clean crayon off your walls? (Lifehacker)
3 ways to enhance your embroidery (also 3 adorable inspiring projects) (Wild Olive)
This party theme (and the post title) absolutely cracks me up. (Young House Love)

I could watch this ALL DAY. (via Hipster Game of Thrones) (YES, this is another repeat; what is WRONG with me.)

Food

A cake covered with Whoppers. My husband would DIE. (Stars and Sunshine)
A tip for a better PB&J (Lifehacker)
Basic Yellow Butter Cake – a great one for my Basic Recipes series (The Kitchn)
A copycat recipe for a Wendy’s frosty. Gotta try this one. (The Kitchn)
10 cheap staples everyone should have in their pantry – oh, great post idea! (The Kitchn)
23 homemade breads. Yes. Bread is one of my faaaavorite things. (The Kitchn)
Candied Ginger, two ways (Inn at the Crossroads)
Simple chicken salad with a twist: Basil! (Blogchef)

Articles and News

A time lapse video of the recent annular eclipse. Boo for living on the East Coast – it must have been awesome in person. (Wired Science)
What do you know (or think you know) about the Pacific Garbage Patch? (io9)
This article will generate a 20-minute workout for you. You have 20 minutes, right? Sure you do. (Lifehacker)
Thoughts on couponing – got any suggestions to add? (Get Rich Slowly)
This week, let’s have a history lesson on … bra-burning? (The Mary Sue)

I am not entirely sure why this happened. (via Epic Ponyz)

Entertainment: Books, TV, Movies, and others

All the new SF/F shows: this list is pretty depressing, honestly. (io9)
Someone researched how our “future” was portrayed in fiction for more than a century. You know you want to see the infographic. (io9)
There’s a nifty-looking Harry Potter web series coming soon. (io9)
If you had to guess which literary characters are most frequently portrayed on film, who would you choose? (io9)

Art

Video game characters in the ukiyo-e style by Jed Henry (via io9)
Sonic Screwdriver beats Lightsaber. What happens next, though? By KK Jordan (via io9)

Weekly Greatness:

How to throw an insult like Shakespeare (Aunt Peaches)
Just a bit of fandom silliness, at the expense of Legolas. (Cleolinda)
Australia is TERRIFYING. And funny, if it’s a comic. (Momentary Lapse of Reason)
Matt Smith, everyone. (Who Generation)
TESLA. (The Oatmeal)

This would scare the bejeezus out of me. Via Epic Ponyz

Did you see anything cool around the internet this week? Is there a blog I should be reading? Got an opinion or thought about anything here? Share your own thoughts and links in the comments!  Make sure to follow me (here, there, and everywhere) to get more updates!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shayla
    May 22, 2012 @ 10:38:37

    I am not going to lie: when I saw the thing about the whopper cake, I died a little inside. I miss malted things probably most of all!

    On the other hand, I am excited to try the chalk and a few other crafty things-I am also inspired to start planning summer activities for M.

    The blogs I read are mostly diet/gf related so that’s pretty boring. Maybe this summer I can have some quality Compy time!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      May 22, 2012 @ 14:56:08

      Aww, I’m sorry!
      I’m excited about the chalk too – Missy keeps breaking hers and refuses to use the broken ones. >.<

      I read alllll kinds of blogs so if you're sitting on a great one, let me know! 🙂 And yay for summer!

      Reply

  2. studiokako
    May 22, 2012 @ 15:56:44

    It’s gonna take me a while to get through this, especially today. Oy. But I will do it and you can bet I’ll be back with my thoughts, as always 😉 My to-do list just keeps getting longer, and I’m running out of daylight!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      May 22, 2012 @ 16:00:30

      I understand. 🙂 I think I have yet to read your last one, so I’m in no condition to judge. 🙂 Now get on that to-do list, woman!

      Reply

  3. Melle Eldridge
    May 24, 2012 @ 02:19:13

    Well. Maybe I’m anal, but I already shop in the order of the store. I plan a menu for two weeks, including planned leftovers and we eat that menu. LOL. I started that about 2 years ago when I started following FlyLady. Menu Planning and organized shopping has saved me So. Much. Money. And i read that article about all that food that gets thrown away? A good menu plan will stop that, too. The only thing I ever worry about anymore is lettuce. And that’s only because I only shop once every two weeks. I get what we need and don’t go back. So I have to watch my lettuce very carefully.

    what the heck is up with the cupcake wrappers in the cake pan???

    and I am SO making moroccan lanterns. I have TONS of spaghetti jars. i save them to use as glasses when my mason jars get full over the summer. but i have so many now my husband said i can’t keep anymore. so i guess i will make lanterns out of them!

    Reply

    • Jamie B
      May 24, 2012 @ 12:29:57

      I shop at several different stores, lol. I make a list of what I need from each place and that pretty much covers me. Planning ahead really does save tonnnns of money, not to mention saving food waste! 🙂
      Lettuce is a pain for us too. We pretty much only get salads right after payday, so the lettuce doesn’t go bad, lol.
      Man I do not even KNOW about the cupcake wrappers. Funny though.
      OMG I love those moroccan lanterns. They are SOOOO happening. I hoard jars and containers so I can probably make like 15 of them right now.

      Reply

Join the Discussion!

