Rosh Hashanah

I’m not Jewish. Never have been and presumably never will be.  So why, you may ask, am I writing about one of the High Holy days?

Well, it has to do with my deep love for autumn. In the early days of autumn, as the air cools, the apple harvest comes in, and the leaves begin to turn, I feel like I come alive. I can’t explain it. I feel like this lovely time of year is much nicer and way more logical for a New Year than the middle of dreary winter (ahem, Gregorian calendar).
I can’t even attempt to claim to “observe” the holiday. I mostly just hijack it as a great excuse to make delicious bread and eat apples. I began this “tradition” last year in fact. I was (and am) a fervent reader of the blog Shiksa in the Kitchen, and her posts about holiday food enticed and inspired me. It’s just a coincidence that it fit so well with my own feelings about the season.

I’m celebrating today by making and consuming a delicious Challah bread, eating apples with honey, and drinking kosher wine. I won’t tell you the rest of my meal because it’s positively blasphemous. 😉

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EntropySylph
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:26:12

    Any reason to make bread is a good reason. Here, any reason to go get ice cream is a valid reason… bad day? Ice creams! Passed a test? Ice creams! Boring day? Ice creams will make it interesting!

    Reply

Join the Discussion!

