Hanukkah

We caught a special Shalom Sesame about Hanukkah today, and Missy really got into it. (Gotta love Sesame Workshop.)
I believe in learning about other cultures and participatory learning, so I threw together a small celebration, and we talked about what she learned on the show.
I think I might also toss together a Kwanzaa day, learn more about the pagan solstice celebrations…. do it UP. Why not, while we do the Xmas stuff (and while my mom asks her about Jesus birthday cake).

image

I tossed together 9 candles.

image

I made some challah. God that bread is good. I always make half of the Challah I recipe on allrecipes.

image

I made sweet potato latkes. The oil foamed up weirdly, I guess because of the eggs. Seriously, though, omg those were goooooood. I followed a recipe on allrecipes.com.

image

Lastly, behold the holy sufganiot that I acquired from Dunkin just 10 minutes before closing.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lzbthcldwll
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 22:51:04

    Wonderful you had so much fun! I suggest you search for Miracle and Happy Hanukkah by Matisyahu – songs you will both enjoy and dance around the house to!

    Reply

Join the Discussion!

