Web Weekend #7

Hey there! I’m a bit late, but I’m here! I completely defeated my Reader backlog over the last week, but I was so busy yesterday that I wasn’t able to put this roundup together.

I’ve got a whopping 376 subscriptions now. I’ve also gained a number of new followers this past week, so HELLO to all of you! Remember you can follow me on Pinterest for nearly-daily flailing and excitement.

Just a quick reminder of my process here since I’ve got so many newbies. As I read through my subscriptions, I pin, I share to my friends, and I star (a Reader feature). When the time comes for a roundup, I look at the list of my starred items and scan through it, looking for the best of the best. The things I really liked, that I really want to do or try, or that I just think were so awesome that everyone needs to see it.
This isn’t like some link posts you may see, where I’m just sharing my friends. Most of the things I link to are by people who don’t even know I exist. No cronyism here.
ENJOY!

Let's start the week off with a Time Lord. (from David Tennantgasm)

Things to Buy or Make

“Jelly Roll” floor pillows (Shelterness)
Zelda Perler beads – I’m not a fan of Perler coasters, but this would be a great pattern steal for anything pixel-y. (Instructables)
DIY Bokeh filter – that’s a fancy camera thing for you fancy camera people (Apartment Therapy)
A Bandolier for your journal (Dudecraft)
Colorful coat rack made from pallets (Recyclart)
Lorem Ipsum embroidery (Dork with a Needle)
DIY Steampunk Goggles – been meaning to make some for ages, really need to get to it. (GeekMom)
This awesome felt trivet made the blog rounds this week, and it’s easy to see why! (How About Orange)
Button-up throw pillows (Curbly)
Knotted Felt throw pillows
(Curbly)
Map-covered boxes (Recyclart)

Ideas to Use

Natural, non-chemical, egg dyes (17 Apart)
Six DIY soap recipes – after the success I had with laundry soap, I’m gonna try some others! (Curbly)
Common items repurposed into bedside “tables” (Apartment Therapy)
Some tips to better your blog (BlogHer)
Use your coffee to tell the weather. (Lifehacker)

Please allow me to indulge my Pony love. (from My Little Brony)

Food

Strawberry Lemonade Tea Cookies (Instructables)
Here’s a list of 42 edible flowers to pretty up your meals (Treehugger)
Lemon Risotto
with Chicken, Olives, and Fennel ($35 a Week)
Welsh Rarebit? (The Kitchy Kitchen)
mmmm, Honey Roasted Almonds (with an i.e.)
DIY Triple Sec – oh yes definitely making this (Savvy Housekeeping)
Spinach and Ricotta Canneloni (Happiness Stan)
Fried Potatoes
(Simple Organized Living)
Double Cheddar Broccoli Soup (30 Pounds of Apples)
Kahlua Dip – enough said. (Scary Mommy)
Restaurant-Style Taco Meat (Lost in Transition)
Roasted Mushroom Quinoa Risotto (The Shiksa in the Kitchen)

Articles and News

Canada is phasing out the penny. I wish the US would follow! (Treehugger)
Are best friends only for kids? (The Gloss)
What do you think about mega-families? (Jezebel)
This entire controversy about Rue just makes me sad. (BlogHer)
Neither a hoodie nor a hijab should be a death sentence. (BlogHer)
Where did life really come from? (io9)
What do you think about chores for kids? (Apartment Therapy)
What craft supplies do you think are essential? (Apartment Therapy)
10 Moons that everybody should know (io9)
Go read the letter in which Tolkien told off the Nazis. (io9)
In case you feel like being depressed and fascinated at the same time. (io9)
What do you do when you encounter racism (sexism, etc) in an old book? (io9)
Queen Elizabeth, wedding crasher. (Jezebel)

Entertainment News

Fill the gap between Harry and Katniss with Gregor (GeekMom)
A Star Wars chart that proves that geeks don’t understand the meaning of “it’s just a movie.” (io9)
The Dark Shadows trailer is awesome. (io9)
21 photos from this season of Game of Thrones! (io9)

Genuine LOL. (from Doctor Who Official)

Art

Here’s some amazing fan-made maps of Westeros and its world. (by JE Fullerton, via io9)
Minimalist Doctor Who posters (by Karma Orange, via The Mary Sue)
An amazing seascape made with FISHHOOKS (by Yoan Capote, via Cutesturbing)

Weekly Greatness:

Please enjoy Michael Emerson pretending to be high. (via Gallifreyan Geek Squad)
Game of Ponies: Friendship is Coming (via the Uniblog)
Lucy just started watching Doctor Who. (Lucy Knisley)
Noelle did a whole series of comics about Hunger Games. This one is my favorite. (gingerhaze)
This is unexplainable. Just go look. (The Mary Sue)

[pic]

Did you see anything cool around the internet this week? Is there a blog I should be reading? Share your own thoughts and links in the comments! Got an opinion or thought about anything here? Make sure to follow me (here, there, and everywhere) to get more updates!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Busy Busy Busy « merricontrari

Join the Discussion!